Brushes

Alec Longstreth recently came to visit NHIA. This was the second time that I had Alec down. He gave an inspiring lecture and if you ever get a chance to see him you should. He is a very inspirational speaker and has a lot to say about making art your life. Not unlike what David Smith says just alot funnier. He goes into detail about time management in the same way that I do with freshmen during our orientation. Alec was telling me about Charles Burns’ inking demo at The Center for Cartoon Studies in White River Junction VT he said that Charles Burns’ lecture was uninformative, in that he just whips his brush around and the magic of his line comes out. It may have something to do with drawing comics with a brush since before I was born. But I digress, I wanted to talk about brushes. I have been obsessive over brushes ever since I have been drawing comics. I read Matt Beriner’s blog Comic tools and got hooked. Unfortunately, you cannot find the Windsor Newton Series 7 brush in my neck of the woods, but I was going on a trip and intended to do some work so I had to get a new one. I ended up going to Albany NY to get one.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

